Animal Inspired Nail Art.

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.” – Mahatma Gandhi.

All of us have a favourite animal and animals are a great inspiration in the art world. Their fur, their feathers, their faces, they have been an influence on many different forms of art, one of which being nail art.

As with other nail art posts (which can be found here), these nails have all been painted by myself, on myself. Unlike my previous posts, all of these nails have been painted within the last year. I guess I just really got into animals one point!

Flamingo

Firstly, above we have a lot of flamingoes. Personally, I am not a big flamingo lover so I thought I would get these out of the way first. This is probably a result of my hatred for the colour pink (sorry flamingoes!).

I used a nude nail polish for the background and a pink striper from the Rio Professional Neon Nail Art Kit. From the same kit I also used a black and white striper and the dotting tool in order to create the beak and the eyes.

Fox

Next are some foxes. This design is my personal favourite animal design and it is in fact my most popular photo on Instagram to date.

In order to create this design I painted the whole nail orange with Barry M Gelly High Shine Nail Paint in the shade Mango. Then I used the same black and white tools from the previously mentioned kit to add the rest of the detail by painting a V shape with the white and filling in the bottom half and using the stripers for the ears and whiskers and dotting tool for the eyes and nose.

Peacock feather

My third animal inspired nail art design is a peacock feather. This was definitely one of my more tricky designs hence why I only painted the one nail.

The background polish used is New York Color In a Minute Nail Polish in #206 East Village. To create the feather I used my trusty black striper as well as the orange one from the same kit. Then, using a dotting tool I place two blue dots within each other in the centre of the feather.

Paw prints

Another animal inspired nail art design are these paw prints. I didn’t want to risk trying to draw dogs onto my nails so I settled on their paws and I painted these using two different sized dotting tools.

Another influence behind this design was a blanket I used to have for my dog which was covered in paw prints. However, this blanket was in two different shades of brown and I fancied something a little more bright and colourful so it didn’t inspire the whole design.

the cow jumped over the moon

This final design I named “The Cow Jumped Over The Moon” and was inspired by the nursery rhyme Hey, Diddle Diddle:

Hey diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle,
The cow jumped over the moon.
The little dog laughed to see such fun,
And the dish ran away with the spoon.

While this design is not the best quality, I still wanted to share it because I loved the idea behind it.

So, what did you think of my animal inspired nail art designs? Maybe I’ll have another attempt at them one day… or maybe I’ll do a whole other animal, any suggestions?

– driftinglexi

Leave a Reply

