Review: Words in the Dark by Giulia Beyman.

“Stop being such a fatalist. Life is what we make it. It has nothing to do with destiny or being unlucky.” – Giulia Beyman.

Words in the Dark is the first book of a series named the Nora Cooper Mysteries. I love mystery and thriller books, but I have not actually read that many. After stumbling around on Net Galley I came across this book and wanted to read it.

Words in the darkThe book follows Nora Cooper whose husband had recently died and her discovery that he had sold their dream home where they had been planning to retire. Nora is confused and tries to get to the bottom of it, but meanwhile, she is receiving messages who she believes are from Joe, her deceased husband. A search for the truth puts Nora’s life in danger, but ultimately helps her solve the death of her husband as well as the death of another.

I didn’t really have a clue what to expect from this book. Beyman is an Italian author and in fact this book is a translation so I didn’t really know what to expect from her.

The book started well and then in the last hundred pages I really got into it and I must say that I really enjoyed it. The story is well written and thought out. I didn’t exactly know where the story was going, but it made it interesting and it made me suspicious of almost everybody.

I also loved the supernatural element to it which I really didn’t expect. This, however, was a pleasant surprise for someone who loves fantasy books and is a fan of TV shows such as Supernatural. This added a unique touch to a crime book and I definitely recommend it.

I rate this book 4/5.

– driftinglexi

Leave a Reply

