Movie: How I Live Now.

After finishing How I Live Now I decided to watch the movie. If you are interested in reading my review of the book  which I wrote earlier this week, please click here.

how i live nowIn an ideal world, movies would always match books down to the smallest detail. Unfortunately, this is not always realistic. This is written about more in a very old blog post of mine from when driftinglexi first started which can be read here.

For example, some differences I found within less than the first half hour of this film include:

  • The lack of Osbert, the eldest brother.
  • Addition of Joe.
  • Entire personality change for Daisy including her unwillingness to join her cousins in activities.
  • Isaac picking her up from the airport instead of Edmond.
  • Isaac speaks a hell of a lot more than in the book.
  • It is as if Isaac and Edmond switched places; Edmond speaks to the animals.

Despite these differences, they are not always bad. An example of this being Edmond as in the book he was always portrayed as very young, though we are never given an actual age, but in the book he looks older making the relationship at least a small bit more appropriate. As appropriate as a relationship between cousins can be anyway.

In the movie, the role of Daisy is played by Saoirse Ronan. Saoirse is a favourite actress of mine also know for her roles in Atonement, City of Ember, The Lovely Bones, Hanna and The Host. Although there is a change in personality between the books and movie, in the movie Saoirse plays the part really well and if you do not take the book into account so much you can see that it is in fact a good movie.

Personally, I think I might have actually preferred the movie to the book which I am sure you all know is a rare thing to happen.

Have you read the book, seen the movie, or both? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

– driftinglexi

4 thoughts on “Movie: How I Live Now.

  1. aitchrebeccaaitch says:

    Hi, I’ve only seen the movie but I really liked it, I like movies like that. Differences between books and films are so common I kinda see them as two different stories to be viewed by themselves (if not, the film will always seem like a massive disappointment.) Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

