Stripe Inspired Nail Art.

“Blue does not go with everything,” Will told her.
“It does not go with red, for instance.”
“I have a red and blue striped waistcoat,” Henry interjected, reaching for the peas.
“And if that isn’t proof that those two colours should never be seen together under Heaven, I don’t know what is.” – Cassandra Clare.

Last week I revealed many different Spot Inspired Nail Art designs, so this week I am doing the same, but with stripes. I do not have as many stripy designs, simply because you can do so much with a striper that my nail designs are often more than simply stripes and they have been more incorporated into the designs. I also do not often paint stripes as I tend to prefer spots; however, sometimes the occasion calls for stripes.

Green black and white stripes

In the past I have covered my nails with plenty of stripes, but the photo quality is so appalling that I couldn’t possibly share them online. Nevertheless, they were rather basic designs so you’re not really missing out.

Black white and purple stripes

These first two nails designs are simply black an white stripes over a background colour. It is cute and simple and doesn’t take too long to do over all of your nails either.

I also think that this design looks best with a pastel colour rather than too bright a colour, but it kind of depends on how you do it.

Blue and silver tribal

This next design was a bit of a fiddly and time consuming design to repeat on all of my nails. As a result of the detail it was difficult to get a really clear photo, but I hope that the one above will suffice.

For this, almost aztec/tribal like design I used a  dark blue nail polish (possibly by Barry M, though it was a while ago I painted these) and a silver striper.

“Once you can accept the universe as matter expanding into nothing that is something, wearing stripes with plaid comes easy.” – Albert Einstein.

From stripes to plaid…

Green plaid

I personally love plaid. I have so many plaid shirts, it is probably what I am known for wearing most other than Converse.

I thought that it made sense to include these plaid designs because they are basically stripes.

Plaid

This design above was in fact inspired by a pair of pyjamas I own and love. I felt very coordinated when I went to bed after painting them.

Blue plai

Honestly, this was a rather difficult post to write because often my stripy designs are quite boring because I simply pick two colours, so I have tried to share the more interesting ones, but that doesn’t make them any easier to write about!

Let me know your favourites in the comments and any other nail designs you would be interested in seeing.

– driftinglexi

7 thoughts on “Stripe Inspired Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

