The Courtship Book Tag.

Today for Tag Tuesday I am doing the Courtship Book Tag.

tmohtbi

Phase 1 – initial attraction; a book that you bought because of the cover:

The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne.

The first thing which attracted me to this book was not in fact the cover, but the pages. The edges of all the pages are a bright red, my favourite colour. I love it when books have colour around the edges of the pages, I think it looks beautiful. I then looked at the cover which looked really good in black and red and on it were the rules on How to be Interesting. Not only did I like the cover, but ended up liking the book, a review for which is up here.

the night circus

Phase 2 – first impressions; a book that you read because of the summary:

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

I suppose that I read all my books after having read and been intrigued by the summary. However, I am cheating slightly for this one because I have not actually read it (only the summary). I first read the summary for this book a year ago and a few weeks ago I finally bought it and I cannot wait to be able to read it. Before moving onto the next phrase I would also like to point out how beautiful this cover is (I seem to like the colours black, white and red together).

Phase 3 – sweet talk; a book with great writing:the shock of the fall

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer.

The writing in this book basically follows the thoughts of the main character and his own writing. This book is written really well in a way that provides insight into the character’s thoughts and feelings and Filer also changes the font of the text at suitable parts applicable to the story.

For a full review please click here.

Phase 4 – first date; a first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series:city of bones

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Clare created a whole secret Shadowhunter world unknown to us mundane, non-magical folk and I am obsessed with it. Not only did City of Bones make me complete reading the series of The Mortal Instruments, but it led to me reading Clare’s other book series surrounding the Shadowhunter world including The Infernal Devices and The Bane Chronicles. Clare is also going to be releasing more books based in this fictional world in the future which I shall definitely be reading.

Phase 5 – late night phone calls; a book that kept you up all night long:tfios 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

I am sure that all of you have heard of this book whether you love it or hate it. Personally, I love it.

John Green is a great writer and I am always dedicated to reading and finishing his books and The Fault in Our Stars is without a doubt my favourite of his works.

However, I cannot deny that while I did stay up all night to read this book, part of that may have been due to my tears. Yes, it’s a sad one, but there are happy moments too.

Phase 6 – always on my mind; a book that you could not stop thinking about:hpatps

Harry Potter; I never stop thinking about Harry Potter.

Even after all this time?

Always.

I am sorry, but I could not help it. However, I hope you all appreciate the reference. I am sure that if you Potterheads had the opportunity, you would use those lines too.

Nevertheless, every read of this series I can’t help but get totally sucked into it. My only wish is that I could stay there.

Phase 7 – getting physical; a book in which you love the way it feels:The Iliad

The Iliad by Homer.

I do not own very many hardback books, but this is definitely my favourite.

The classic books have so many covers that there is always at least one you have to love and the clothbound classics are always beautiful. I wish I could own them all.

I do not know why exactly, but I just love the way books like this feel in my hands. They feel important almost and secure as it’s more difficult to accidentally ruin the covers of hardback books. I have a paperback copy of the Iliad, but from where I had to use it for college all the pages and the cover is bent at the corners from my bag. As a result of this I bought the hardback which will be well-loved and looked after.

Phase 8 – meeting the parents; a book in which you would recommend to your friends and family:1984

I would definitely recommend 1984 by George Orwell which I recently reviewed here.

This is because I feel that this is just one of those book that everyone has to read at some point or another.

As a matter of fact, it was actually my father who encouraged me to read this book. Is that cheating?

Phase 9 – thinking about the future; a book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future:perks

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my favourite books. I love the writing in this book because it is an epistolary novel. This means that the book is written in a series of letters and I love this format. I also love the characters and the plot and have already read this book approximately three times.

(The book cover inserted on the right is not my favourite version of this book – there are many – but it is the one I own.)

Phase 10 – share the love; who would you like to tag?

I am going to tag a few of the blogs I have quite recently found and enjoyed:

I look forward to seeing the responses of you all.

If I haven’t specifically tagged you, don’t worry. If you want to do the tag, then do it anyway and let me know so that I can check out your answers too! I am constantly on the hunt for books to read.

– driftinglexi

7 thoughts on “The Courtship Book Tag.

Leave a Reply

