Book and Beauty Favourites for June.

Here it is: my first Friday Favourites. I do hope that I don’t disappoint as I have never made a favourites post before.

I could not pick just one category to use for my first Friday Favourites. It was my birthday earlier this month so I have lots to share with you all. At least this way there is a bit of something for everyone. As a matter of fact, I still have lots to share for next week’s Friday Favourites.

Let’s begin with books:

  • Millie Marotta’s Animal Kingdom: a colouring book adventure.AK

You may be thinking “a colouring book? Really?” but it is brilliant.

There are so many pictures and they are ever so beautiful and detailed. Colouring is also very relaxing and calming, something we tend to forget as we grow older. Colouring books are not as childish as they sound. As a matter of fact, they are great for relieving stress, something I’ve been experiencing a lot of recently due to exams. I usually tend to have mental breakdowns around exams and this book has actually helped me so much. I always made sure to find time to do some colouring the night before an exam so that I had something to focus on that wasn’t the exam and this also helped me get a good night’s sleep.

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.We Were Liars

I wrote a review for this book earlier this week (which can be read here) and I absolutely loved it.

If you haven’t read this book, I suggest staying away from spoilers though because what I will tell you is that there is a massive plot twist near the end which is best to experience first-hand.

This is definitely one of my favourite books which I read this month.

Now onto beauty:

roller lash

  • I cannot fail to mention the Benefit Roller Lash Mascara which everyone has been raving about and I finally received this month as a birthday present.

From the first brush across my eyelashes I fell in love with it. This mascara has certainly lived up to the hype. If you have been doubtful about buying this mascara, I know it is more on the pricey side, but it is worth it. There is no drugstore mascara like it.

This palette contains fourteen different eyeshadows. That’s a lot to choose from, but hold on, it gets better: you can add water to these eyeshadows and depending on the eyeshadow they will get deeper in colour or turn metallic etc. It’s almost like getting twenty-eight eyeshadows in one, reasonably sized palette!

I have been using this palette most days since I received it for my birthday and have been able to try out many different looks. I think my mum was even tempted to keep it for herself when she bought it for me. There are purples and browns, a blue, a silver, a black and a white and it is very versatile with shimmery shades and matte ones. I have been loving it these past few weeks.

The brushes the palette comes with are okay, better than other brushes I have received in eyeshadow palettes, that’s for sure. The domed brush is not very nice when applying the eyeshadow directly from the palette, it is best if you wet it first otherwise it can be rather uncomfortable, but the brush is designed to hold water for the eyeshadows.

This palette is no way better than the Urban Decay Naked palettes, but it is one of my favourites out of the several palettes I own. You can create so many looks, it even comes with a leaflet with suggestions and the colours are great.

  • Real Techniques brushes.rt sb

Although I do not have much to compare them to, I love the Real Techniques brushes. I use the Expert Face Brush for my foundation, the Powder Brush for powder and the Shading Brush for my eyeshadow. They apply the products really well and are ever so soft; they feel lovely when brushing them along the skin.

The photo displayed on the right is the Shading Brush, the newest addition to my collection.

I hope you enjoyed my first Friday Favourites post. What are your book and beauty favourites for this month and what have you been loving this week?

– driftinglexi

5 thoughts on “Book and Beauty Favourites for June.

Leave a Reply

