Freedom.

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.” – Charlotte Brontë.

I AM FREE.

Free to drift. Free to wander.

I did intend to write this post earlier today, but I ended up being so much busier than I expected that I only now have the time and there is only twenty minutes left of the day. Nevertheless, I have had an incredible day. My best friend passed her driving test today and I am so proud of her that we spent almost the whole day, except this morning in which I was in an exam, driving around. We must have driven roughly one hundred miles. We also had a lovely dinner in Frankie and Benny’s, one of my favourite restaurants.

The point of this post is to announce that I have officially finished college. Lessons: check! Exams: check! Results: hm, still waiting for that one. However, except for collecting my results I never have to set foot on campus again. What a wonderful and relieving feeling!

Despite this, it is also scary. I have been set free from the grasp education has held over me the past fifteen years, and now what do I do? Now is the next big adventure: work. I am fortunate though that I do not need to get a job straight away, therefore allowing me to exercise this new found freedom.

So, what am I going to do with this freedom?

I am going to be reading and doing nail art, two of my favourite hobbies and the progress of which will be updated onto this blog. I have consistently succeeded in blogging every day Monday to Friday for almost two weeks now and I really hope that I can keep this up for over the summer at the very least. This means that you should be expecting posts every day, five days a week from now until the end of August (and hopefully beyond).

This means that I have two whole months, and then some, for reading and nail art. I enjoy writing posts for this blog every day and I really hope that you reading this enjoy doing so. Because of this, I want to write posts I know that we can all enjoy and I enjoy anything book or nail related. This is why I would be very grateful for book recommendations or any ideas you would like to see transformed into nail art and to the very best of my ability I will read and review these books and paint these nails.

Before publishing this post I would also like to give a big thank you to everyone who has supported me and this blog the past two weeks, especially since I was in the midst of my exams. Writing has been a great break from my revision by giving my mind something else to think about for a while and without you guys it is probable that I would have given up writing again by now. As a result, I am now more dedicated to this blog than ever before. So, thank you all, I am very grateful.

– driftinglexi

12 thoughts on “Freedom.

    • driftinglexi says:

      Many really, I probably mostly read young adult books and fantasy but I have been reading others things recently like crime and horror. I kind of like a bit of everything and I am trying to branch out more.

      Liked by 1 person

      • franzi000 says:

        For YA and fanrasy I can rrally recommend Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead if you like Vampires and that stuff 😉 if you are interested in dystopian books I can recommend The Selection by Kiera Cass or Delirium by Lauren Oliver, with crime and horror I cant help you…that are not my genres 😛 but my parents love crime/thriller and what I heard they really like the books of Jussi Adler Olsen..maybe its someting for you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Amanda Livingston says:

    Congrats to your friend for passing her driver’s license! Also, it’s great that you have the time/opportunity to write and express yourself creatively. It’s nice to have a break after working so hard and studying for 15 years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

