Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

“Always do what you’re afraid to do.” – E. Lockhart.

We Were LiarsI finished this book a second ago and instantly fired up my laptop to write review, but I am not even sure where to start. I am gobsmacked over that ending. I read about the last twenty pages with my mouth gaping wide with my hand in front of it in shock and sadness and all the emotions running through me which makes this really difficult to write, but I have to do this. I have to do this because this book was just so good, it was incredible and amazing and everyone needs to know about this.

“What if we could stop being different colors, different backgrounds, and just be in love?”

(I must apologise before we start properly because I found many lines in the book which I loved so there will me more quotes than the norm in this review.)

We Were Liars follows Cadence after she has been in an accident and lost her memory. Throughout the book we learn new things about this accident Cadence was in at the same rate that she does when she returns to the island where it happened and at the end there is a shocking discovery about this accident.

I had been itching to read this book for a long time and whenever I went into the bookstore I either couldn’t find it or they only had a damaged copy (I like my books in pristine condition). Finally, I bought it this week. At the beginning, I won’t lie, I wasn’t exactly gripped. I mean it was good, but I wasn’t so sure on the style and format of the writing, but as the book went on, it worked and I loved it because it was unique and it just made you keep reading and before you know it you’re already halfway through the book and then it’s over and you’re left speechless.

“There is not even a Scrabble word for how bad I feel.”

Not only was the style and format of the writing really good, but of course, the plot was too. I wasn’t really sure where the story was going, but then you reach a point and you’re like “ooh, this is getting good, I can’t put this down now” and you think you can predict what is going to happen, but no, you cannot. Lockhart’s marvelous plot twist right near the end really had me and I cannot express how great this book is. Sure, it was sad and I cried a little, but it’s those authors who get you to feel something who are the best ones.

“The universe is seeming really huge right now. I need something to hold on to.”

Another part of the book I really enjoyed were the fairy tales at the end of each part. I will admit that I did not enjoy all of them, but they added a really lovely touch to the story and it basically showed the story in different lights. Furthermore, near the end it was really good for the understanding of the story and a brilliant way to convey the events.

“Silence is a protective coating over pain.”

If you have not read this book, I think that it is a must that you do.

Rating: 5/5.

– driftinglexi

11 thoughts on “Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

Leave a Reply

