Review: All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully.

All I Know Now“Happiness is always there. You just have to choose to see it. There’s no point dwelling in the dark and ignoring the light of the stars.” – Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Carrie Hope Fletcher, where do I begin? I have watched Carrie’s videos on her YouTube channel for years now and I read her blog, and now I have read her book. I have always found Carrie to be a very inspirational and positive person and her book All I Know Now just reinforces this view.

So, the book… I loved it. It has humour and advice, it’s informative and I feel like I have to mention that there is no absence of Harry Potter references which made me smile with every one I read. At the beginning after noticing them I begun counting, but it’s slightly difficult to read a book and count at the same time without keeping a tally!

Another thing I cannot forget to mention is how I love a book with a good format and layout, and this book sure has that! It is split into acts and even has a finale and a props section and the writing is easy to read and follow. The layout is ideal for a book written by Carrie considering the fact that she is an actress.

Furthermore, when I was reading I could hear Carrie’s voice saying the words in my head, though that may just be from me being a fan of her videos and as someone who has watched a great many of them. Either way, it literally felt like a video in book form and this is definitely a good thing because us Hopefuls do love Carrie’s videos.

As a nineteen year old I noticed that this book is probably directed at an audience a few years younger, perhaps those just beginning secondary school, but nevertheless, I still feel like I have gained a lot from this book and that I can use Carrie’s useful tips to help me be a better and more understanding person.

My only possible fault is that this book felt slightly repetitive, though this is probably because it’s intended for people to look back on when they are in need so that they can easily find sections most applicable to situations they are going through, so I found this difficult to necessarily see as a bad thing.

The last thing I would like to point out concerning the book is its appearance. It is just gorgeous. The colours, yellow and purple, go perfectly together and are cheerful and inspiring and hopeful, just like Carrie herself. While the jacket of the hardback looks great, if you take it off it gets even better.All I Know Now naked

Hearts and stars all yellow and purple, even a cute yellow heart on the spine of the book. And in the centre, what’s that? A definition, of course! And if you have been following this blog for a while you will have noticed how all of my blog posts start with either a quote or a definition. What can I say? I love words.

hopeful

As Carrie’s followers, we call ourselves Hopefuls. The use of this word on the cover demonstrates to us, firstly, Carrie being cheery, inspiring and as someone full of hope, and secondly, it implies how much we mean to Carrie which is just beautiful considering how much all of us love her.

Overall, I am very proud of Carrie and have really enjoyed her writing. This book is a must read for any fan of Carrie’s or any young person in need of advice, or even any young person for that matter as we all need advice sometimes. I look forward to any future content produced by Carrie no matter the medium.

On the subject of Carrie, I am also very excited to announce that in August I will be attending one of her performances as Carrie is currently starring as Eponine in Les Miserables. I cannot wait to see the show and I am really hoping that I will get the opportunity to meet her afterwards.

Back on track, Hopefuls, what did you think of Carrie’s first book? Please feel free to discuss below. Personally, I would rate this book a 4/5.

– driftinglexi

5 thoughts on “Review: All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Leave a Reply

