Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

beautiful creatures“Old things are better than new things, because they’ve got stories in them.” – Kami Garcia.

Beautiful Creatures is the first book in the Caster Chronicles and it centres on two main characters who ultimately fall in love.

This is your typical story of one character moving to a dull town where everyone knows everyone with the added supernatural elements. In this case, the character is Lena Duchannes who moves to Gatlin and meets Ethan Wate, opening him up to the dark secrets surrounding the town and her family.

I usually tend to love young adult books of the paranormal genre, even if it is for a short period of time, a good example of this being Twilight which I eventually realised wasn’t as good as I had first thought. However, this book I found pretty disappointing, which is even worse considering its length. I kept trying to read this book for ages and I found it a bit difficult to get into and now I am so relieved to have finished it because now I don’t need to worry about having an incomplete book on my shelf.

Let’s look at the basics though, shall we? A small town rather isolated from, well, the rest of the world, new student and a main character there is something unique about, but we never actually seem to get to the bottom of? This feels all too familiar. One thing I will say I like however, was the fact that we had a male protagonist, so I suppose that’s one point for originality, but he wasn’t necessarily different from any other main character in other books who all seem to hate where they come from.

The most interesting thing about this book was the world of the Caster’s, however, I just don’t think we got very deep into it and I was left very unsatisfied with the ending.

Unless I encounter severe boredom, I shall not be reading the sequel I am afraid to say. What are your views? I have heard rather mixed reviews concerning this book and I am open to hearing your opinions.

– driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Leave a Reply

