Fandom Inspired Nail Art.

“Fandom: the fans of a particular person, team, fictional series, etc. regarded collectively as a community or subculture.”

For years now I have considered myself to be a part of several fandoms. As a result of this, I have tried to combine my interest in particular books and TV shows with my hobby of nail art.

I started doing nail art in late 2012 and I have been a part of different fandoms for much longer. A lot of nails I have produced during this time has been inspired by Harry Potter; however, I personally do not consider those to be my best. Because of this, I wanted to share and document two sets of nails which have been inspired by different books.

Without further ado, here are the nails:

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

TFiOS

These nails were painted almost a year ago now in time for the release of the movie starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort.

For this design I used a black and a white nail polish (any brand will do) and the blue I used was Barry M Matte Nail Paint in Malibu Blue.

If anyone is interested in recreating this design, the only tools I used were the brushes the polishes came with and a dotting tool in two sizes.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Divergent

Later last year I decided to do nail art associated with Divergent. These nails were inspired by Tris’ tattoo of the three birds which symbolised her family (her mother, father and brother).

This design is simple and cute and you don’t necessarily need to be a fan of the book or movie in order to wear it.

The nail products I used for this design are Barry M Gelly High Shine Nail Paint in Lychee for the background and a plain black nail polish for the birds, created using the black from a Rio Professional Nail Art Kit. The Rio Professional Nail Art Kit is ideal for nail art because the dual applicator bottles have a dotting tool and a striper. I have been using these kits (there are many) for the past two years and personally, I love them. Plus, they are very affordable.

I hope you have enjoyed this post and these nails. I am open to any nail art suggestions whether they be influenced by books or not so please comment below. Also, if you recreate these nail designs I would love to see them so do let me know.

I would like to add that I did paint these nails myself, those are my own hands, so I would really appreciate it if people didn’t use my nail photos without my permission if they are interested in sharing them.

– driftinglexi

4 thoughts on “Fandom Inspired Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

