Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury.

“In the stories of old, a hero is the one who sweeps in with a drawn sword and noble face, to kill the Dragon and free the princess. In the stories of old it never seems to dawn on the princess that she should be careful not to put herself at mercy of those who would do her ill in the first place.” – Melinda Salisbury.

the sin eater's daughterTwylla is a weapon, the Queen’s weapon. She is able to kill people with a single touch and has to do so whenever the Queen demands it. This story follows Twylla and her new bodyguard as she learns the truth about the Queen and is faced with the choice to runaway with her new love, or save the kingdom.

What did I think? Well, I think this book was pretty incredible. The plot was so well thought out and that plot twist, oh wow, I did not see that coming! (It is a little difficult to write a review when you are also trying to avoid spoilers so I am sorry for vagueness.)

When I started this book I didn’t have much time to actually focus on it, but once I found the time to read it, after the first hundred pages or so I really found it difficult to stop; the writing had really captured my attention. I felt like the author was continuously surprising me, in the very best way, and it just left me wanting more. I still want more. As a matter of fact, the second I finished the book I was searching online wondering, “when’s the next one?!” and apparently it’s going to be a bit of a long wait, as in a whole year of waiting.

While I applaud Salisbury’s writing throughout this book, I cannot deny a slight disappointment at the end. I mean, the epilogue was lovely, but at the end of the last chapter I just felt like there was something missing. I don’t know. Hey, maybe that will be covered in book two, only time will tell… I feel that when discussing books which are apart of a series, it is sometimes best to take a holistic approach and look at them all together and I think that this book is one of those cases.

Please comment below your thoughts on The Sin Eater’s Daughter and if you haven’t read it, I do recommend adding it to your list.

– driftinglexi

3 thoughts on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury.

Leave a Reply

