Review: Printer’s Devil Court by Susan Hill.

printer's devil courtI’m sorry for the absence of a quote to use for this review, I know it is out of the ordinary for me and while I do enjoy quotes and the consistency with which I use them, I have been so dreadfully busy with revision that it somehow escaped me to look out for one. Furthermore, Printer’s Devil Court is a very short story which is actually the reason I chose it for my next read considering my exams.

Printer’s Devil Court is a ghost story. The author, Susan Hill, is in fact well known for many pieces, including The Woman in Black. As a result of this, I had high hopes for this piece of writing because while I haven’t read any of her previous stories, I am aware of her ability as a writer, particularly for this type of genre.

While I often enjoy reading supernatural, paranormal and fantasy genres (and even more so watching, any Supernatural fans out there?), I rarely do read ghost stories. However, the title of this book is what drew me to it. I thought that the design was rather beautiful and intricate, and I loved the red, plus it was small, the ideal size for me to be able to write this review at this point in time. Of course, I didn’t buy the book solely based on the cover. The next thing I noted was the author’s name and the title. Fitting in with some of my favourite genres there was the world “Devil” which, I don’t know about you, but it sure grasps my attention. As mentioned before, I don’t usually read ghosts stories, but I read the blurb and for some reason, I just felt inclined to read it.

Moving on to the actual book, I didn’t know quite what to expect at the start and I thought that since it’s only about a hundred pages, I’ll just push through it. While this is a ghost story, it wasn’t as spooky or eerie as I had hoped nor as I had expected and I do kind of wish that there was a bit more to it. Personally, I think it was missing the horror, the scary element associated with ghosts and the like.

Overall, to an extent I liked the story, but it’s not something I would recommend to others. Then again, considering my unfamiliarity with ghost stories, except for the ghosts of Hogwarts in Harry Potter, I may not be the best of judge for a ghost story. If you’re feeling unsure, why not go for it? I mean, at roughly one hundred pages, what do you have to lose? Books are subjective; I may not be too keen or the most reliable source, but you may enjoy it.

– driftinglexi

6 thoughts on “Review: Printer’s Devil Court by Susan Hill.

  1. E.F. Olsson says:

    THE WOMAN IN BLACK is an excellent ghost story book written by Susan Hill. I compare most of her books to that one. PRINTER’S DEVIL COURT isn’t a bad book – she writes really well – but like you said, as a ghost story it kind of failed. But luckily as an Amazon Kindle Single ebook it’s fairly inexpensive. Currently I’m reading her story, THE SMALL HAND. I’m halfway through and it’s not bad. I’m enjoying it. If you’re looking for a good ghost story, besides THE TURN OF THE SCREW by Henry James, HELL HOUSE by Richard Matheson is excellent.

    Like

    • driftinglexi says:

      I’m glad you share the same view as I haven’t read anything in order to make any sort of comparison. Thank you, I am always looking for more books to read. I currently have six books on my bedside table to read, but I will definitely check out The Turn of the Screw and Hell House. I’m also hoping to go book shopping tomorrow so I’ll make sure to keep an eye out for them and hopefully I’ll be able to read them once my exams are over.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

