Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.” – Jennifer Niven.

all the bright placesAt the end of my previous review I mentioned how I am currently in the midst of my exams. As a result of this, I wanted to write a review, but I have not had the time to read anything which was not related to my revision. This has meant that if I wanted to post anything, I would need to review a book that I had already read.

This review is actually one I wrote after reading this book and reviewing it on Goodreads. Now, I started Goodreads partially as a way to practice writing reviews, and for the most part to organise the books which I read, so this review is going to start roughly, and most likely, less impressively, if I have ever posted an impressive review. Nevertheless, this review was for the most part written in February.

Please bear in mind that when writing my reviews, I do try to avoid posting any spoilers so I do refrain from writing in too much detail about a book. Because of this, my reviews often come across as vague.

Without further ado, here is some insight into my thoughts on All the Bright Places…

Gosh, it’s so ironic how a book about suicide with such a sad, albeit somewhat expected, ending has such a lovely, bright and colourful front cover. I know they say not to judge a book by its cover, but I had hoped that it might mean we would get a happy ending. Nevertheless, I did enjoy this book and I feel so much sympathy for Violet especially. I also cannot help but love the two characters sending quotes to each other as I do love reading quotes from people (in case you have not gathered from all the book reviews I have posted which always start with a quote).

Originally, on Goodreads, I did put this book at five stars; however, after a little more thought I took it down to four. After having recovered from the ending, looking back on the book and having done some other reading since, I realise that I can’t rate it that high. There was just something off about the characters and let’s be honest, that was a rather cruel ending.

It has been commented that this book is a cross of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I completely disagree. This book is its own; it is not like a combination of others. Sure, there are elements of the books which may match up, but if you look for them you can find similarities in almost any two books. Niven did not write a crossover, she wrote a stand alone piece which deserves to be recognised as one. That said, I do not deny that those who have read the aforementioned books and enjoyed them, will most likely enjoy All the Bright Places. Open the book as a blank slate and relish in the pleasure of reading.

– driftinglexi

17 thoughts on “Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

  1. sensuallydesired says:

    Hello–

    I am auditing your blog from the community pool.

    First off your design does not work, the letters are too small and the dark-blue on black of the left-hand sidebar is too dark and the letters are too small. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

