Review: Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle.

“I always had this idea that you should never give up a happy middle in the hopes of a happy ending, because there is no such thing as a happy ending. Do you know what I mean? There is so much to lose.” – John Green.

let it snowPerhaps this is not the ideal book to be reading in May, but then again the weather in the UK has been rather terrible this past week with all this rain, and even hail in the case of today. Nevertheless, we are not here to discuss the weather; we are here to discuss the book Let It Snow.

Let It Snow follows three different stories which, throughout overlap and in the end, tie altogether. Each author, Green, Johnson and Myracle, offer a different story and at the end of the book their characters and their stories all join together to form a happy ending as their characters each experience different problems as a result of the same snow storm leaving characters stranded in a new town and characters trying to get through the same town which is deep in snow.

By the end of this book, I did like it though it is most likely due to the happy ending which I couldn’t help but smile at. It was quite nice how the book was basically split into three parts, each written by a different author with their own main character whose stories overlapped at times. However, I will admit that I wasn’t too keen on all the characters, especially the main character of the last book which was slightly disappointing; I mean, it’s always good to like the main character, right? My favourite story has to be, unsurprisingly, John Green’s. There is just something about Green’s writing which is spot on and a piece of writing by him has yet to disappoint me.

What are your thoughts? Did you enjoy the book? Which story was your favourite? Feel free to respond below.

– driftinglexi

P.S. I’m sorry that it has taken me over two weeks to read this book and post this review; it’s currently exam season for me so things are slightly hectic. If I don’t have time to read another book by the end of this month I may just have to review one of my course books!

2 thoughts on “Review: Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle.

Leave a Reply

