Adaptation.

“Adaptation: A movie, television drama, or stage play that has been adapted from a written work, typically a novel.”

What often frustrates me when a new movie has been released is that it is often based on a book and people don’t always seem to notice this. As book lovers, we tend to feel that we should read the book first and that the film serves as how the book can be interpreted, however more often than not, the film is under appreciated. It can be a really good film, but commonly, if it doesn’t exactly match up to the book then we can’t help but at least feel a slight disappointment. For instance, The Great Gatsby which was released in cinemas a few months ago was a really good film, but as someone who has read the book (and studied it for English Literature at college) the movie was different to how I had pictured it myself – just don’t get me started, I mean come on, the music…!

The point is, that although a book is being turned into a movie, even if all the details don’t match up, it doesn’t mean that it still can’t be a good movie. Plus, when making a movie certain things need to be taken into consideration. For instance, when they cast actors the crew want to find the best they can for the role they are playing, even if it means that they don’t look exactly like how the character is described in the book.

So, are there any movies you’ve seen that have lived up to your expectations after reading the book? Or are there any that have been a huge disappointment? I want to know and I am always looking for additions on my list of books to read and films to watch!

Later today I am off to go and see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones at the cinema. Anybody seen it yet? Let me know what you think and how it compares with the book. Shamefully, I still have not read the novel. I haven’t had the time despite it being summer, but I am determined to read it soon without letting the movie influence my thoughts on the book!

Xxx

Leave a Reply

